Book Review: I Capture the Castle

I Capture the CastleI Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

The blurb: ‘I write this sitting in the kitchen sink’ is the first line of this timeless, witty and enchanting novel about growing up.

Cassandra Mortmain lives with her bohemian and impoverished family in a crumbling castle in the middle of nowhere. Her journal records her life with her beautiful, bored sister, Rose, her fadingly glamorous stepmother, Topaz, her little brother Thomas and her eccentric novelist father who suffers from a financially crippling writer’s block.

However, all their lives are turned upside down when the American heirs to the castle arrive and Cassandra finds herself falling in love for the first time.

My review: This is such a beautiful book. I can’t form sentences eloquent enough to say how much I loved this book. It’s an ensemble book, despite being told from Cassandra’s point of view, the Mortmain’s and their extended family are one charismatic bunch, you can’t help falling in love with them.

I Capture the Castle follows their adventures over the year in their ramshackle castle, adjusting to the developments of having exciting new neighbours. It speaks of a simplicity of times gone by that are sadly lost forever. Cassandra and Rose make for a passionate sisterhood and their adventures had me smiling to myself on my daily commute. I will go back and read this novel, I can’t wait to step back into their world and I’m sure I’ll find new treasures in a second reading.

The only reason and I mean the ONLY reason I’m not giving this a ten is because I want more. The ending whilst poignant and leaving the reader free to imagine the characters going off and leading fulfilled lives, makes me want to scream at the injustice of cutting me off before I can celebrate Cassandra getting her happy ending. But I will end on saying if you haven’t read I Capture the Castle it comes highly recommended!

9 out of 10 stars! *********

BUY ME! I Capture The Castle (Vintage Classics)

Leave a Reply

