Top Ten Books I Wish Had Sequels

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . This week we’re looking at top ten books you wish had a sequel. So either endings that were unsatisfactory or plots and characters that you want to come back to. Lots of thoughts on this one, here goes:

1. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

I simply cannot get enough of this book. The characters were portrayed so beautifully that by the last page it was a wrench to let them go.

2. The String Diariesby Stephen Lloyd Jones

I want more! There’s a species nearing extinction, an entire hidden society, more exploration is definitely needed!

3. I Capture The Castle (Vintage Classics) by Dodie Smith

I HAVE to know what happened to Cassandra. This is an instance where I know my imagination won’t be as clever or as beautiful as Dodie Smith’s so I’d rather just read about it!

4. This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith

I’m adding this because I completely loved this book but I’m not sure I want a sequel. If I could just give myself targeted amnesia so I could read it again as the first time that would be perfect!

5. Sunshine by Robin McKinley

This was a perfect set up for a sequel… what happened? So much darker than Twilight.

6. The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe

This was such a great novel, Connie had only just discovered her legacy and her power. It would be really great to find out where she went after that.

7. Maine by Courtney Sullivan

Once again I fell in love with the characters in this novel… it always comes back to that. It also doesn’t hurt that it’s in a beautiful sounding location!

8. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

This was such a richly imagined world that I think a sequel would work brilliantly. Perhaps with a different main character.

9. The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

I would definitely sleep better at night after knowing what happened to Skeeter.

10. Grave Secret by Charlaine Harris

Which is a bit of a cheat as it’s the fourth book in the Harper Connelly series but I loved the series so much that a fifth book would be very, VERY welcome!

That was a lot of fun – remembering books that I really enjoyed and want to revisit!

What are your top ten?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wish Had Sequels

  1. I loved Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan, I also happen to love Maine as a place too! ūüôā

    One of these days I’m going to have to pick up a Jennifer Smith book, they sound adorable.

Leave a Reply

