Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make You NOT pick up a book…

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . This week we’re looking at top ten words or topics that would put you off picking up a book. Nothing is immediately springing to mind but I’m sure as soon as I start, there will be plenty of choices!

 1.NAZI’S

There’s just some things I never want to read about.

2. POLITICS

Sadly I don’t have a political brain, I find it very dry in fiction. Bar the occasional spy thriller this is the top of my list.

3. RUSSIAN VAMPIRES 

Something I was sent recently had this on the cover. Not for me I’m afraid!

4. NON-FICTION

I wish I was more into non-fiction but it just doesn’t float my boat. Especially autobiographies or self-help books. In fact SELF-HELP should have it’s own sub-category of terror!

5. BABIES / MOTHERHOOD

I’m not really at a place in my life yet where I can relate to main characters who’s entire book life is tied to them being a parent. A future love perhaps.

6. DRUGS

Life is too depressing already.

7. GRIEF / DEATH

Having lost a very close, dear friend there’s some things I never want to relive and losing a loved one is not something I can deal with contemplating.  This head is firmly buried in the sand.

8. SPORTS

I don’t play any and understand even less.

9. BANKING / FINANCE

Another very dry topic here and one that’s made me turn away from thrillers before.

10. ANCIENT ROME 

It would have to be a very good book to make me pick it up if it includes any form of ancient civilisation – Rome, Egypt etc… not as the main setting thank you very much.

As expected that turned out to be easier than I thought!

What are your top ten?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make You NOT pick up a book…

  1. Russian Vampires? That’s pretty specific.

    I don’t read a lot of non-fiction either. It has to be on a topic I’m very interested in and it has to come with recommendations from multiple people before I pick it up.

    My Top Ten

  2. Great list. I am a recreational reader, an escapist reader. I agree with much of your list because I don’t really want to solve world problems when I read, I want entertainment!

  3. Oooh…Russian vampires. That sounds great. Definitely no to banking and finance. I’m at the stage where I want a baby, but I don’t really like reading books about babies and motherhood either.

Leave a Reply

