Book Review: The River of No Return

The River of no returnThe River of No Return by Bee Ridgway

The blurb: In Bee Ridgway’s wonderfully imaginative debut novel, a man and a woman travel through time in a quest to bring down a secret society that controls the past and, thus, the future.

“You are now a member of the Guild . There is no return.” Two hundred years after he was about to die on a Napoleonic battlefield, Nick Falcott, soldier and aristocrat, wakes up in a hospital bed in modern London. The Guild, an entity that controls time travel, showers him with life’s advantages. But Nick yearns for home and for one brown-eyed girl, lost now down the centuries. Then the Guild asks him to break its own rule. It needs Nick to go back to 1815 to fight the Guild’s enemies and to find something called the Talisman.

In 1815, Julia Percy mourns the death of her beloved grandfather, an earl who could play with time. On his deathbed he whispers in her ear: “Pretend!” Pretend what? When Nick returns home as if from the dead, older than he should be and battle scarred, Julia begins to suspect that her very life depends upon the secrets Grandfather never told her. Soon enough Julia and Nick are caught up in an adventure that stretches up and down the river of time. As their knowledge of the Guild and their feelings for each other grow, the fate of the future itself is hanging in the balance.

My review: It’s been a little while since I read this so I need to try and refresh my memory. (Note to self; always write reviews straight away even if you don’t post them.)

Oh yes, I remember… I LOVE THIS BOOK. In my top three of the best books I’ve read in 2013, the most immersive, the paciest, the heart-thuddingly brilliantist, the most velcro’ocity – i.e. it was stuck to my hand with velcro the entire time I was reading it. (I know I just made up some new words but this book deserves them all) I ate quicker, I finished conversations without listening to the other person just so I could get back to this book. It weaved a spell over me. Bee Ridgway has created an entire world to pull you in with a full compliment of darkness and light.

I was completely captivated by this book from page one and when it went somewhere I wasn’t expecting I loved it all the more. This is a beautifully written, entire world of sensory historical wonderment. A carefully thought out epic adventure with good guys you don’t completely trust and bad guys you completely fall for. The twists are spectacular. As is the historical detail, handled with the lightest of touches. At the beginning it was my favourite Jane Austen, then my favourite James Bond, then back to Austen. Julia as a heroine has the capacity of everything I loved about Elizabeth Bennett but with something more, the capability to act on her desires and that something extra, demonstrated by all great fantasy novels, her own secret power! But even with the time travel and the clever references to time as a river the enduring love story is what I came back to. It’s hard to pull off, especially with all this ‘other’ going on but it’s simply beautiful. Read it, you won’t be disappointed!

If you want to try something new – give this book a go!

10 out of 10 stars! **********

BUY ME! The River of No Return

Leave a Reply

