Book Review: Like This For Ever

Like This For Ever Like This For Ever by S. J. Bolton

The blurb: Bright red. Like rose petals. Or rubies. Little red droplets.

Barney knows the killer will strike again soon. The victim will be another boy, just like him. He will drain the body of blood, and leave it on a Thames beach.

There will be no clues for detectives Dana Tulloch and Mark Joesbury to find.

There will be no warning about who will be next.

There will be no good reason for Lacey Flint to become involved . And no chance that she can stay away.

My review: I am without doubt, a certified fan of SJ Bolton’s work. The only book I haven’t read being her first – Sacrifice, which I will definitely revisit if Like This For Ever is anything to go by.

We’re back with Lacey Turner and Mark Joesbury after the dramatic, and I must say romantic, finale of Dead Scared. I went back to read the last few chapters as the simmering tension between those two could light the national grid! And is well worth a read!

S. J. Bolton is the Queen of the Twist, the Mistress of the Red Herring and the Doyenne of the Disturbed. There are so many hints that you can’t help but try to guess whodunit and I clocked up four guesses before giving up in astonishment at the denouement at the end.

Bolton also makes fantastic use of her locations, London is as much a character in the novel as the people. The damp, unsettled, changeable nature of the tides of the Thames pervades this book.

My only minor flaw in an otherwise perfect diamond, is the character of Dana Tulloch grates on me ever so slightly. I don’t know why, I can’t even put my finger on the cause or effect, I guess in previous books I’ve paid little attention to her as a character and in Like This For Ever she plays a more vital role, is key to the intricacies of other major characters relationships and is therefore more in my firing line.

But that should definitely not put anyone off, this is a highly recommended crime novel, pacey, thrilling and definitely one to immerse yourself in on a cold spring night!

9 out of 10 stars! *********

BUY ME! Like This, For Ever

Leave a Reply

