Book Review: Ten Things I’ve Learnt About Love

Ten ThingsTen Things I’ve Learnt About Love by Sarah Butler

The blurb: A uniquely heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for fathers and daughters everywhere.

Alice has just returned to London from months of travelling abroad. She is late to hear the news that her father is dying, and arrives at the family home only just in time to say goodbye. Daniel hasn’t had a roof over his head for years, but to him the city of London feels like home in a way that no bricks and mortar ever did. He spends every day searching for his daughter; the daughter he has never met. Until now . . .Heart-wrenching and life-affirming, this is a unique story of love lost and found, of rootlessness and homecoming and the power of the ties that bind. It is a story for fathers and daughters everywhere.

My review: This book is definitely a grower! It begins with obliqueness, it doesn’t give up its secrets easily or quickly and some remain a mystery after you’ve finished the book! This is not one to read if you need closure in your books because it was left very open ended. Normally I’d put myself in that category but this had such a charming feel to the ending that I can live with it, just this once!

I loved the Top Ten segments in the book, they felt very real and as a list maker something I would do. Although not perhaps to that depth of emotion. I did find it quite confusing which list belonged to which character member as it’s not immediately clear. This may have been on purpose but I found it frustrating at times. You just get into a story line when it shifts to someone else’s narrative and that’s probably a failing in my patience but it was tested.

This is a dark book, not one to read when you need cheering up despite the beautiful cover but it is a lovely read and you need to devote time to read it and savour it’s nuances. The characters are well developed and stayed with me for some time after I’d finished, especially the homeless man in London. As someone who lives in London it was interesting to see things from his perspective. The complicated family relationships are handled deftly and small, significant moments will be celebrated rather than dramatic all out victories. A lovely little book.

7 out of 10 stars! *******
BUY ME! Ten Things I’ve Learnt About Love

Leave a Reply

