Top Ten Books to take on a Desert Island…

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . This week we’re looking at top ten  books to take on a desert island, so I’m thinking chunky reads, funny (it might be depressing to be on your own) and books I’ve always meant to read but been put off by their length!

1. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

This book would keep  me busy for a long time, although with not much else to do I’d probably race through it!

2. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

A book I’ve always wanted to read but been slightly too scared to start it due to it’s enormous size!

3. The Bible

Greatest story ever told? Who knows, I’ve never read it. Would seem like a good time to start!

4. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

I love this book, I relate so much to Bridget and all her worries but on a desert island I’d appreciate that they are no longer my worries anymore so would find them even more funny and poignant.

5. Major Works of Charles Dickens by Charles Dickens

One quick Google search later and it would seem Bleak House is Dickens longest work. I’ve never read a Charles Dickens so it would seem to be the perfect time. Although if I could get away with these beautiful Penguin Classics set then I’d be sorted for all the Dickens I could ever need!

6. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

I loved the adaptation of this novel and have been meaning to read it so it’s going in my washed up suitcase. It would definitely serve to remind me that some people are worse off than me!

7. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

Creepy, atmospheric, very long, the perfect book to read in the sunshine!

8The RSC Shakespeare: The Complete Works by William Shakespeare

Never quite got round to reading all of Shakespeare’s plays. The beauty of them in this situation is if you got bored, you could act them out with parrots and monkeys as your rapt audience!

9. The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

Just reading about Sherlock and Holmes adventures makes me feel cleverer, this book would be brilliant as a way to pass the time whilst waiting to be rescued.

10.Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

I’d need some guidelines on how to behave so this seems perfect!

Have gone entirely fiction but maybe being stranded on a desert island would be the perfect time to take up something really taxing, like Astro Physics, I’ll leave that up to you to decide!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to take on a Desert Island…

  1. Ah, the major works of Charles dickens. I should have thought of that and good choice. 🙂 and high five for having the bible on our lists, haha.

  2. I love Bridget Jones’s Diary too. Any adaptation of Pride and Prejudice works for me. I’ve been wanting to read North and South as well. I love the adaptation!

  3. I adore Bridget Jones too – I’m not sure if it’s all just rumours or if there’s any truth to there being a third book being written which is going to be completely different from the third movie.

    Great list – I like the variety of genres you’ve covered. No matter the mood you should be able to find something to fit how you’re feeling at any time whilst stranded on the island.

Leave a Reply

