Waiting On Wednesday: Born Wicked

I am Waiting again on Wednesday! This meme is hosted at Breaking the Spine and is based on a book you can’t wait to read that hasn’t been published yet.

*
So my book for this week is: BORN WICKED

The blurb: Romance, magic and an age-old prophecy – the first novel in a stunning new paranormal young adult series.

Our mother was a witch too, but she hid it better. I miss her. To me, the magic feels like a curse. According to the Brothers, it’s devil-sent. Women who can do magic-they’re either mad or wicked. So I will do everything in my power to protect myself and my sisters. Even if it means giving up my life – and my true love. Because if the Brothers discover our secret, we’re destined for the asylum, or prison . . . or death.

*

I am missing some good YA Fantasy in my reading life at the moment, so this looks perfect. There’s a trailer too, just to get into the spirit of the book! Sounds good, beautiful cover and I’ve always preferred witches to vampires! Sign me up!

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Published: 7th February 2013, Penguin

PRE-ORDER ME! Born Wicked

10 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: Born Wicked

  1. this sounds like a great read! its going on my to read list. I see youre reading the girl you left behind…is it good? Ive been thinking about adding to my to read list.

  2. I hadn’t heard of this one before so thank you for selecting it! Not sure that I will read it but thanks for sharing! ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday you can do so here. 🙂

  3. Oh, I’ve wanted to read this one ever since it was first released! Glad to know the paperback version is coming soon ^^ Thanks for bringing that to my attention, and for stopping by my post earlier 🙂

  4. I read and reviewed this recently and I liked it too. One of the things I loved about it were the character names (a bit silly, I know): Cate, Maura, Tess, Finn, Clara, etc., are gorgeous names. However, I did have an issue with the cover, I couldn’t understand why they put the girl in such a short dress given the time period.

  5. I am rather ambivalent about this one, I liked it well enough, but not even close to his best. The show was actually pretty decent all considering how King usually translates to the big or small screen (I watched it because it was Stephen King, which is also the reason I watch Haven). Given how many story lines are in the book, there was quite a lot of material to work with.

Leave a Reply

