Top Ten Series I Haven’t Finished

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . I love this week’s list theme as I’m  hoping it will shame me into finishing some really good series that I’ve somehow lost the thread on.

I think the main reasons for me not finishing these series is because I read so much that when a new book comes out, I’m usually reading something else. I think I’d be better coming at something when it was already all out there, that way I could just order all the books and not have the waiting time! Anyway here is my entry…

1. Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris. Next to read: Dead Reckoning: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse 11)

What? How? WHY?? I know, I know, I bought it straight away and somehow haven’t read it yet. I feel both wrists have been slapped and am quite ashamed of myself.

2. All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness. Next to read: Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy 2)

I absolutely loved A Discovery of Witches so how come I haven’t read this yet? I think the same reason will appear again and again, a very big book, not enough time and I can’t quite remember how the last one finished. So I’ll want to read the first before starting the second…

3. The Inheritance Series by Christopher Paolini. Next to read: Inheritance: Inheritance Cycle, Book 4 (The Inheritance cycle)

I love the dragon advertures of Eragon. But when it went from a trilogy to a series, I didnt get round to reading Inheritance, another one I already own and need to read!

4. Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch. Next to read: Moon Over Soho (Rivers of London 2)

The first book featuring PC Peter Grant: Rivers of London, was one of the best genre cross-over books I’ve ever read. So why the delay…? There’s two more out there!

5. The Iron Witch Trilogy by Karen Mahoney. Next to read: The Wood Queen (The Iron Witch Trilogy)

The Iron Witch was a fantastic take on the witch genre. So let’s get on with number two!

6. Black Swan Rising Trilogy by Lee Carroll. Next to read: The Watchtower (Black Swan Rising Trilogy 2)

I loved Garet James, the New York jeweller/watchtower in Black Swan Rising. This was an urban fantasy with a really interesting and original twist. Time to revisit methinks!

7. Thursday Next Series by Jasper Fforde. Next to read: Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next 2)

I loved The Eyre Affair, quirky, original and full of literary references to tickle the serious reader! I am so ashamed that I haven’t got past book one that I’ve just ordered this one!

8. The Lorien Legacies by Pitticus Lore. Next to read: The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies)

I Am Number Four was a book I devoured, then I devoured the film. Then I anxiously awaited The Power of Six, purchased from a well-known bookshop and sat it by the side of my bed. Where it hasn’t moved for thirteen months! Oh the shame.

9.Mary Russell Mysteries by Laurie. R. King. Next to Read: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (Mary Russell Mystery 01)

I accidentally bought book nine of this series at an airport before going on holiday, which is why I’ve added book one here as my next to read. It was a really great book so want to go back and start from the beginning.

10. Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater. Next to read: Linger

Another one I bought after finishing the wonderful Shiver, then popped on a shelf to read after finishing my current read before being distracted by something else. Such a great start to a series.

Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!! This list has been the easiest one to do yet! I have so much to read, so many brilliant series that I want to follow and haven’t been able to, I hope we can do a completed series list soon as I need to restore my faith in my own book commitments! I’m very ashamed of myself and will sit in a corner for the rest of the day!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I Haven’t Finished

  1. I’ve been listening to the audio of Shadow of Night and it’s taking forever to get through, though I do like the series. And I finally finished The Wolves of Mercy Falls series not too long ago, though I think Shiver is the best book of the trilogy. Agreed that this week’s topic was easy (yet depressing) to put together!

  2. I love the All Souls Trilogy, if you liked the first one, you’ll likely enjoy the second one. Apparently the movie rights were sold and this is one series I’d love to see made into a movie (assuming the right people are cast, not just who the popular people are).

  3. Yea, I haven’t gotten around to reading Inheritance by Christopher Paolini yet either, even though I own the book. I think it will be quite a while before I get to it as well….

    I haven’t even started reading the Sookie Stackhouse books. But with REALLY long series like that, I tend to stay away from them. I don’t like series that seem to never end.

    I finished the Wolves of Mercy Falls series. It only gets better and sadder as they go on. You should definitely get around to reading them whenever you can. If you enjoyed the first one you will definitely enjoy the last two.

    The other series that you mentioned I haven’t heard of or don’t plan on reading myself.

    Domo Arigato for stopping by my blog earlier. =D

Leave a Reply

