Top Ten Romances You Think Would Last Outside The Book!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . I didn’t feel able to take part last week as I didn’t really want to list ten of my top posts as that seemed a little to self-focused for me. But this is a topic I can definitely get my teeth into!

There are a few caveats from me, I mean you couldn’t pull out some Jane Austen characters and assume they’d last outside the book in the twenty-first century! It’s too foolish to go down that road, so historical situations aside I’m going for the couples that no man or writer could split asunder!

1. Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester in Jane Eyreby Charlotte Bronte

They have been through so much together to reach their mutual understanding that nothing could come between these two.

2.Bella and Edward in Twilight (Twilight Saga)by Stephenie Meyer

I almost hate to add them as it’s been so long since I’ve read the books and the actors personal lives seem to have taken over from the characters. But at the time I remember thinking they must have been very much in love and going all weak at the knees!

3. Lyra and Will by Philip Pullman His Dark Materials Trilogy: Northern Lights, Subtle Knife, Amber Spyglassby Philip Pullman

Their relationship is one of the saddest in literature. I cried for hours at the end of this book for all the lost potential. But if they could’ve been together I think they’d have been together forever.

4. Buttercup & Westley in The Princess Brideby William Goldman

If you love someone enough to fight the Dread Pirate Roberts and then become him, that’s a pretty savage love!

5. Arwen and Aragorn in The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

Not only did they have lovely singing voices and beautiful hair but they were a match made in Elvish heaven.

6. Bridget Jones & Mark Darcy in Bridget Jones’s Diary: A Novelby Helen Fielding

Having already survived the most extremely ridiculous scenario’s together, I doubt there’s much to break these two up.

7. Diana Bishop & Matthew Clairmont in A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

I come back to Diana again for another list. She’s such a great character and they make a wonderful pair. Vampire and Witch locked together. Now that’s chemistry!

8. Adelia Aguilar & Rowley, The Bishop of St Alban’s in The Death Mazeby Ariana Franklin

With the immortal line, I fell in love forever, which prompted me to email the author and let her know!

‘No use to you, am I? I hope you freeze in hell – and Henry with you.’
He turned his head so that he could kiss her. His chin scraped her cheek.
‘No use at all,’ he said, ‘except to make the sun come up.’
And he was gone.

Sigh.

9. Ron & Hermione from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

Let’s face it we all wish we were one of this pair!

10. Celia & Marco in The Night Circusby Erin Morgenstern

There’s a beautiful relationship, drawn together like moths to a flame and just as destructive then redemptive in the end. Lovely. Sure they’d survive if they can survive a topsy turvy circus!

Alarmingly a lot of my choices were couples who didn’t make it to the end of the book! Fatalities such as One Day and Me Before You needed to be stripped out! Who would you choose?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Romances You Think Would Last Outside The Book!

  1. I haven’t read all of those, but I like your picks and reasons. =)

    I have these conflicting feelings for Buttercup/Westley… I completely adoreeee that movie and the book, and despite all the True Love declarations I almost don’t feel like they’re real love at all. Buttercup was terrible to Westley and he never really got to know her that well… I dunno, it’s all complicated, haha.

  2. I love Bridget Jones and Mark Darcy. I have to admit that I’ve seen the movies more times than I’ve read the books but I love them in both forms. I love his willing to put up with all of Bridget’s craziness. I absolutely believe that they’d be together in real life.

    I think I’ll have to read Shadow of night before I feel like I can support Diana and Matthew but just from the first book – I also think they’d last.

    Great list!

  3. Great list! I love a lot of the couples you mentioned: Celia & Marco, Diana & Matthew, Bridget Jones & Mark Darcy, Arwen & Aragorn, Lyra & Will…now I want to re-read all of those books =D

    Am super late (it’s been a busy week) but thanks for dropping by my blog earlier this week for TTT =)

Leave a Reply

