Top Ten Characters I Would Switch Places With For 24 Hours

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . Today’s challenge is characters you would swop places with. I have a funny feeling there’s going to be a predominance of children’s books listed here… after all, they have the most fun!

1. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Who wouldn’t want to be the best witch at Hogwarts! To be able to do spells without even opening your mouth, to be bookish, well who isn’t? To be in Gryffindor and  have a time turner. It doesn’t get more fabulous than Miss Granger!

2. Elizabeth Bennett by Jane Austen

Hopefully on one of the days when she’s with Darcy otherwise it might just be embroidery for 24 hours! I’ve loved Elizabeth since I was about twelve and first read Pride and Prejudice. I’d love to step into Pemberley.

3. Skeeter Phelan from The Helpby Kathryn Stockett

A really, gutsy strong woman is Skeeter in The Help. I’d like to go back to the sixties in the South, at a time of change and be someone, albeit fictional, that tries to make a difference.

4. Eragon from The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

Eragon has a dragon. An actual dragon, plus some pretty impressive skills of his own. I could live with being a man for 24 hours if I had my own dragon.

5. Miss Marple by Agatha Christie

Miss Jane Marple is an absolute legend. If I could be her for 24 hours, with everyone else thinking I was just a little old lady, then hit them with my deducing skills, I’d be a very happy lady indeed!

6. Tiffany Aching by Terry Pratchett

Yep, yep, yep, a witch on the chalk surrounded by little mad pictsies, what could go wrong?

7. Diana Bishop by Deborah Harkness (A Discovery of Witches)

Clever, feisty, end of a long line of superwitches, Diana Bishop would make for an amazing 24 hours.

8. Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris writes her characters very well, would be interesting to be Sookie and telepathic in a world filled with interesting and danerous creatures.

9. Harper Connelly by Charlaine Harris

Another strong woman from Ms Harris – the Harper Connelly books are I think, my favourites over the True Blood books. Harper has a special gift, she can find dead bodies. A touch macabre but interesting all the same!

10. Matilda by Roald Dahl

Reading is your past time and you can move things with your mind. Fun!

This ended up being a very easy list to populate… I could go on with more, anyone with any magical powers ever!!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I Would Switch Places With For 24 Hours

  1. I see we agree on several picks–Matilda, Elizabeth Bennett, and Hermione. Skeeter is a great pick, too. And I honestly think I could be a darn good Diana Bishop.

  2. Great list! I’d love to switch places with Hermione Granger as well. She knows practically everything there is to know in the wizarding world.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

