Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish . I have headed over there today and they are doing Top Ten OCD Bookish Habits. I’m struggling to come up with three of these so have looked through their archive and picked one I’ve not done before! So Ladies & Gentlemen I give you… Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read!

1. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

What was I doing with my childhood? How did I miss this?

2.Dickens by Charles Dickens

There’s no Dickens in my list of books I’ve read. All I can say is I tried with Great Expectations at probably a too young age and couldn’t get past the language. Is on my list to try again! I mean this year has been all about Dickens!

3. Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

I spent a good few years pretending I had read this but it was a lie! I love the film so need to sit down one day and read the book.

4. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Looks completely up my street but never went there. I guess I clumped it in my head with Dr Who and I’ve never fallen for the doctor. Time to re-evaluate…

5. The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway

When I was single and dating online this book was recommended to me by a fair percentage of men. One day I might read it. Might’ve lied to a few of them about having read it already, I mean it must be about a man and the sea… right?

6. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Supposed to be seminal and brilliant. Will read one day!

7. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

I was longing, absolutely longing for this book to come out. Yet I haven’t read it yet and it’s probably nearly a year later. Who can fathom why we reach for one book and not another.

8. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Can’t believe I haven’t read this, sounds amazing.

9. Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson

This book was always on my TBR list not just because the cover is amazing. But for some reason it was everywhere all the time and that put me off. Maybe I will revisit.

10. 1984 by George Orwell

The King of Dystopia, I dont know why I’ve not read this. I will try to rectify some time in the next ten years!

Wow I created a whole list without one single menti0n of The Hunger Games,  Sherlock Holmes, Marple or Poirot. I must be growing as a person.

Leave a Reply

