Book Review: One Moment, One Morning

One Moment, One Morning by Sarah Rayner

The blurb: The Brighton to London line. The 07:44 train. Carriages packed with commuters. A woman applies her make-up. Another occupies her time observing the people around her. A husband and wife share an affectionate gesture. Further along, a woman flicks through a glossy magazine. Then, abruptly, everything changes: a man has a heart attack, and can’t be resuscitated; the train is stopped, an ambulance called. For at least three passengers on the 07:44 on that particular morning, life will never be the same again. Lou witnesses the man’s final moments. Anna and Lou share a cab when they realise the train is going nowhere fast. Anna is Karen’s best friend. And Karen? Karen’s husband is the man who dies. Telling the story of the week following that fateful train journey, One Moment, One Morning is a stunning novel about love and loss, about family and – above all – friendship. A stark reminder that, sometimes, one moment is all it takes, it also reminds us that somehow, and despite everything, life can and does go on.

My review: I’m sure this is the perfect book for someone, that there’s a reader out there who loves this sort of book, in fact all the amazing Amazon books suggest that there are a lot of readers out there who love this book. It’s just not one for me. I only got up to page 200, then I had to stop. It was just too much.

Not badly written, not poorly thought out just far too much for me to bear. I have a boyfriend that I love very much and have been in very similar situations to the beginnings of this book, happily trundling along with life and now I’ll always be questioning. The poor boy had me ringing him every five minutes to check that he wasn’t having chest pains and that he was still in one piece.

So, too much grief for me for one book, I know that was the point, I’m not suggesting that was bad just not right for me. Heavily laid on female relationships, also a bit much for me, very sad, a little forced in my opinion and a little bit stereotyped. But also very lovely and very moving in equal degrees.

No star rating for me on this one as I didn’t finish it, but if you like family drama and emotional reads give this a go.

BUY ME! One Moment, One Morning

Leave a Reply

