Top Ten Books I’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish as they love lists. There’s a different top ten every Tuesday and I thought this one would stretch my brain power a bit. For added fun am going to see if I can add some casting suggestions as well!

(Weirdly a lot of my first thoughts are books that have already been made into movies – bum!)

1. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

I can see this happening, in fact I’d be surprised if it hasn’t already gone to some fancy pants production house to produce already. I hope they’d use a slightly older actress’s – thirties, someone with some gravitas. Emily Blunt might be nice.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book adaptation would need to be a little bit like the film The Illusionist, lots of cool CGI magic that you can almost believe. The merchandise to go along with this film would be, quite literally, magical! Who do I see as the enigmatic Celia, she would need that indefinable mystery, inner strength and beauty, I’m going for… who am I kidding, can’t think of anyone, would need to be a debut actress!

3. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

A brilliant reworking of Dracula, there’s bound to be a good reason to do this now! I’d want Vincent Cassel as the villain, he’s such a fantastic actor and you can imagine can do creepy very well!

4. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

I wouldn’t be surprised if the film rights for this book had already been snapped up. Brilliant read, couldn’t cast the snow child however, you’d want a super cute unknown girl for this one.

5. The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

A film maker could have real fun with this book, would need an 18 certificate but Hugh Jackman could pull it off, although he’s a very obvious choice!

6. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Why haven’t they done this yet?

7. The Radley’s  by Matt Haig

Would be amazing! I’m picturing it along the lines of Keeping Mum. The best of British acting talent would be required for this, if Rupert Grint needs a role after Harry Potter he’d be great!

8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This book is an absolute weepfest so I can only imagine the damage it would do to my tear ducts on the big screen. Would be fantastic though.

9. Sunshine by Robin McKinley

Such an amazing book. Please make it, someone… anyone!!?!

10.The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Because it would be epic, like the Lord of the Rings, but would need someone epic to pull it off.

So there you have it, my top ten – failed miserably on the casting, which I believe is because I don’t know the names of any younger generation actors apart from the cast of Harry Potter!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird has already been made into a film – a very famous one starring Gregory Peck! 😉

Leave a Reply

