Book Review: Mockingjay

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The blurb: Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’ worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12.

My review: So much I could say here but I’ll keep this brief as so many people may come to this without having read books one and two. Mockingjay lives up to it’s previous sisters and the scenes in the Capitol are brilliant, pulse-pounding pages that I couldn’t walk away from.

But. I’m so sad there’s a but. For me the end of this trilogy needed to be epic, the whole series has been an epic battle against repression and I feel we were cut off in our prime, I didn’t even realise the end tragedy until a few pages later as Collins seemed to leave off her usual straight-talking style to go for language a bit more flowery and in the middle of a very pacey battle scene. The Hunger Games was a brilliantly simple idea with set parameters that worked flawlessly. Mockingjay is the culmination of a three book battle between the people of the Districts and the Capitol – in the same way as Star Wars, the last book/film needed to be dramatic, it needed to justify the pain and suffering, the struggle that had taken place throughout the previous books. I was let down, I felt like it ended with a sigh when it should have ended with a thunder clap.

SPOILER ALERT

Katniss disappointed me. I dont think her actions were true to her character and as for the Peeta/Gale/Katniss love triangle this wasn’t settled effectively either, a strong woman such as Katniss would have chosen, she wouldn’t have shyed away from sparing the feelings of the one she didnt chose as it would be better for them in the long run. In the end she didn’t chose at all, just went with whoever happened to live the closest at the end! Which was ridiculous.

The pods and the Capitol games saved this book, I should’ve stopped reading before the end however and made up my own ending. Sadly average ending.

7 out of 10 stars *******!

BUY ME! Mockingjay Classic (Hunger Games Trilogy)

Leave a Reply

