Book Review: Catching Fire

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

The blurb: The second book in the ground-breaking HUNGER GAMES trilogy. After winning the brutal Hunger Games, Katniss and Peeta return to their district, hoping for a peaceful future. But their victory has caused rebellion to break out … and the Capitol has decided tat someone must pay. As Katniss and Peeta are forced to visit the districts on the Capitol’s Victory Tour, the stakes are higherhan ever. Unless they can convince the world that they are still lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying. Then comes the cruellest twist: the contestants for the next Hunger Games are announced, and Katniss and Peeta are forced into the arena once more.

My review: Rarely do sequels live up to the first book in a trilogy, they don’t have as much power to enthrall and it’s easier to disappoint as the characters and locations, customs and codes of a novel are well loved by it’s readership. I’m happy to say Catching Fire breaks this tradition and is an absolutely amazing addition to The Hunger Games trilogy. The ending in particular took my breath away, I had become so engrossed in the landscape of Panem and it’s twelve surrounding districts that I felt the onset of conflict as a personal blow.

This takes real skill. Suzanne Collins has been gradually introducing the reader to all the elements of a melting pot that’s ready to explode and she’s happily about to light the match. There is nothing slow about this book. It’s a fast paced, adrenalin fuelled ride that will leave you pulling out your hair and biting your nails to get to the end of a truly spectacular piece of fiction. I can’t praise these books highly enough. Mockingjay is calling to me from my bookshelf!

An easy 10 out of 10 stars! **********

BUY ME!  Catching Fire Classic (Hunger Games Trilogy)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Catching Fire

  1. Ah, finally someone with the same opinion! I came across several reviews telling me they were very dissappointed in this one. I actually think it’s the best one of the series 🙂 I love the fact that it’s so fast paced. Action every where, thinks happening all the time.

    Perhaps, if you like, you can take a look at my review? ^^ I know it sounds a bit cheezy, but I’m just interested in your take on my review.
    http://thedailyprophecy.blogspot.com/2012/04/review-14-suzanne-collins-catching-fire.html

    • I’ll go and have a read! I agree, I think it’s my favourite although a bit of a toss up between books 1 and 2 both brilliant!

Leave a Reply

