Book Review: Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

The blurb: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My review: This is a really beautiful, lovely book. Me Before You is the story of two unlikely people, both trapped in a sense, by the actions of others, in lives and in viewing life in a way that they didn’t begin life with. This is a very difficult book to review without giving anything away as the last thing I would want to do is spoil it for someone who hasn’t read it yet.

The characters are brilliant, Lou Clark is an easy person to fall in love with, as is her whole family. She’s quirky, colourful, naive, a bit stupid on occasion but nothing we haven’t all been guilty of before and she’s very relatable. Will as a character must have been extraordinarily tricky to draw and by the end I had such admiration for him and none of the slightly awkward feelings of someone I couldn’t understand that is was masterful. Nathan as well was the perfect supporting role.

The only thing I would change is the length, although I read a proof and it might have been changed. I thought the middle could have been tightened up a bit and I almost put it down and didn’t go back to it because it appeared to be dragging its feet. But I read the last 100 pages in what felt like 20 minutes and cried like a baby.

When I first picked up this book I went to the back and read the acknowledgements, there was a particularly touching one to fellow author Madeleine Wickham that halfway through the book made me guess the ending! I can see why support was needed. This is a dramatic, gasp-out-loud book that will fill you with love and drain you of tears! I hugged my boyfriend for a long time after I’d finished reading it.

8 out of 10 stars! ********

BUY ME! Me Before You

Leave a Reply

