Book Review: The Murder at the Vicarage

The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie

The blurb: Agatha Christie’s first ever Miss Marple mystery, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers. ‘Anyone who murdered Colonel Protheroe,’ declared the parson, brandishing a carving knife above a joint of roast beef, ‘would be doing the world at large a service!’ It was a careless remark for a man of the cloth. And one which was to come back and haunt the clergyman just a few hours later. From seven potential murderers, Miss Marple must seek out the suspect who has both motive and opportunity.

My review: One of the reasons I love having a book blog is so I can keep track of what I’ve read, recently I’ve found I can’t remember what I read in January, the year has sped by and so have the books which is both good and bad. This is the reasoning why I’m going to bore you with more Christie reviews as I have been reading them so here they will be!

This is the first Christie to feature amateur detective and professor of human nature, Jane Marple. I love Miss Marple. There I’ve said it. I don’t care what this says about my character I think a little old lady detective is by far the best thing since sliced bread.

In this jaunty little adventure Colonel Protheroe has been shot in the back of the head in the Vicar’s study and neighbor Jane Marple can think of seven suspects who had a reason to want the old Colonel out of the way. Told from the viewpoint of the Vicar, who had been mysteriously called away just as the shot was fired, this is an interesting and well-plotted example of crime fiction. Possibly not my favourite Christe, I’m still haunted by ‘And Then There Were None’  but definitely a contender, I’ll be looking out  more Marple’s soon!

8 out of 10 stars! ********

BUY ME! The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder at the Vicarage

Leave a Reply

