Book Review: To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The blurb: ‘Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.’

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel – a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the thirties. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much.

To Kill a Mockingbird is a coming-of-age story, an anti-racist novel, a historical drama of the Great Depression and a sublime example of the Southern writing tradition.

My review: What have I been doing with my life! I completely missed this book out in my reading history which was a massive and insane oversight. It is absolutely brilliant. The characters are drawn with such precision that they stay with you for weeks after you’ve put it down.

The setting is very atmospheric and the boiling pot of prejudices in the Deep South in the thirties seen through the eyes of a child was a stroke of genius. I cried, I laughed, I was astounded at how far we’ve come. The whole thing had to be read in my head with a southern accent which was fun! Just a truly seminal book. I can’t tell you how much I thoroughly enjoyed this book. (Also it was my boyfriends old GCSE copy and I had a ridiculous amount of fun mocking him about his pencil notes in the margin!)

There’s a reason it’s a classic.

10 out of 10 stars! **********

BUY ME! To Kill A Mockingbird: 50th Anniversary edition

Leave a Reply

