Book Review: Getting Away With It

Getting Away With It by Julie Cohen

The blurb: Liza Haven couldn’t wait to escape the small village where she grew up with her perfect identical twin sister, Lee. Her life in LA as a stunt woman is reckless, fast and free – and that’s just the way she likes it. But when a near-fatal mistake drives her home, she finds Lee gone and everyone in the village mistaking her for her twin sister. Liza has to deal with her ailing mother, the family ice cream business, and Lee’s dangerously attractive boyfriend. Liza’s always been the bad twin, but as she struggles to keep up the masquerade and puzzle out where her sister has gone, she realises it’s not so simple. She’s spent her whole life getting away with it – is it finally time to face up to who she really is and where she really belongs?

My review: It feels like I haven’t read any chick-lit in ages, probably because I’ve been immersed in fantasy but this was a welcome diversion.

Getting Away With It tells the story of twins, Liza and Lee who begin as chalk and cheese, unappreciative of each other’s lives and the journey they go on to rediscover each other. There are some heavyweight topics in this book, the twins mother suffers from Alzheimer’s and there are some delicately handled scenes that give this book an added dimension.

I loved Liza, bar her ridiculous job as a stunt woman which I just couldn’t believe, I thought she was a great central character, warm, funny and someone you’d like to be friends with. I didn’t warm as much to Lee but that might be because she was less of a focus.

I initially struggled with this book because the beginning is set in LA where Liza works as a stuntwoman, I dont know if this is something the author is familiar with but it didn’t feel very relatable to me. However when the focus moves to stoneguard I was hooked, the village cast of characters are brilliant, they’re funny, Ma Gamble in particular is genius as is Will’s father. The ice cream storyline was also something I found myself invested in. I was pleasantly surprised that I couldn’t put this down and had to read the ending twice as I liked it so much.

This is a great summer read, pack it in your suitcase for some rural charm and escapism.

7 out of 10 stars! *******

BUY ME! Getting Away with it

Leave a Reply

