Book Review: The Iron Witch

The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney

The blurb:        Freak.

That’s what they call seventeen-year-old Donna Underwood at Ironbridge High School. A horrific fey attack that killed her father when she was just a child left Donna branded with iron tattoos that cover her hands and arms – and magically enhanced strength, that she now does all she can to hide.

Now, after ten years of wishing for a normal life, Donna finally accepts her role in the centuries-old war against the darkest outcasts of Faerie – the dark elves. Aided by Xan, a gorgeous half-fey dropout, Donna must save her best friend’s life – and that means betraying one of the world’s greatest secrets and confronting the very thing that destroyed her family.

My review: I am definitely on a run of good luck with my reading! The Iron Witch is a fantastic read, I fell instantly into Donna’s world and thought the author balanced the mix between fantasy, romance and adventure very well. As much as I love a good romance it just isn’t the same if lives aren’t at risk!

I love the elemental feel of this book, using natural forces, the landscape, alchemey to ward off evil and read signs of things to come. There are many secrets and lies in Donna’s life, kept from her and created by her which gave her character a troubled path to walk.  The way the author uses the iron embedded in Donna’s arms was brilliantly original, I was very impressed by the new elements in this book, which just shows how much more YA has to offer.

I really warmed to Donna, she has had to live a life of restraint and semi-loneliness brought on by loss and responsibilities not of her choosing – like all the best heroes! Her best friend Navin and her admirer Xan, were also very readable and I definitely had a soft spot for Xan by the end, I cant wait to learn more about his character. I found the wood elves hard to be afraid of, but I think that was the way I was picturing them! All in all a cracking good book and a beautiful cover!

9 out of 10 stars! *********

BUY ME! The Iron Witch (The Iron Witch Trilogy)

Leave a Reply

