Book Review: Black Swan Rising

Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll

The blurb: Jeweller Garet James isn’t the same as everyone else.
She just doesn’t know it yet.

With her fair share of problems – money (lack of), an elderly father, a struggling business – Garet should be just like any other young, feisty, single New Yorker. If only it was that simple…

It begins with the old silver box that had been soldered shut. All Garet has to do is open it. A favour for the frail owner of the antiques shop. Who wouldn’t help?

Only it’s then that things start to change. Garet doesn’t notice at first, the shifts barely perceptible. But the city in which she grew up is beginning to reveal a long-hidden side – darker, and altogether more dangerous: parallel world of chaos, smoke and blood.

And now it’s out of the box…and it has no intention of going back in.

My review: I really enjoyed Black Swan Rising and I think one of the main reasons was that the heroine Garet James is the same age as me! It’s quite nice to find an older heroine who can still kick some arse! I was always saddened that I hadn’t received my Hogwarts letter at 11 and now I know that the magic can find me at any age!

Odd ranting aside, I love this book. Garet is the last in a long line of strong women who guard the barrier between this world and the other realm (of the Fey), the story has a strong good against evil theme which can drive a narrative along nicely. But the complexity lies in the characters, you never quite know who’s on the good side and what their agenda’s are, I don’t think we’ll completely know until the trilogy is completed (this is the first of three).

I think what made Black Swan Rising stand out for me were three things, the settings – New York is one of my favourite cities and this book shows a completely different side of it. The history – I love the mythology of the story and how it all seems worryingly plausible. The magic – I think everyone loves a tale where an ordinary person finds out they are extraordinary, plus the elemental guides were really cool! Ill definitely be looking out the sequel.

8 out of 10 stars! ********

BUY ME! Black Swan Rising (Black Swan Rising Trilogy 1)

Leave a Reply

