Book Review: Shiver

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

The blurb:
For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods. Especially the yellow-eyed beast whose chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Every winter she watches him, but every summer, he disappears…

Sam leads two lives. In winter, he stays in the frozen woods, with the protection of the pack. In summer, he has a few precious months to be human, until the cold makes him shift back again. When Grace and Sam finally meet, they realize they can’t bear to be apart. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human – or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever. Perfect for fans of Twilight, this hypnotic and unsettling love story was voted “Best Book to Curl Up With” by Glamour magazine.

Mr review: Shiver is brilliant, I’m a little ashamed it’s taken me so long to get round to reading it. The cover is so iconic, I think I’ve seen it everywhere and knew of it even before I picked it up. That is always a good sign.

Its basically a love story between Grace and Sam, a girl who was bitten by werewolves and never changed and a boy who’s been a werewolf for the past 11 years. The chapter style is told from their viewpoints, each chapter marked by a Grace or Sam title which I really loved, it worked well and kept you fully in the picture.

The characters are brilliant, it’s taken a well-known fantasy creature and made a very simple love story a thing of beauty. Wonderfully crafted, Shiver is one of the books this year Ive been surprised by the most.

You really feel the threat of the winter and the struggle Sam is under. The love story isnt corny, its not sickly, it comes across as honest and sweet. Every character is flawed in a realistic way. Brilliant read, I highly recommend it and I’ve already ordered Linger!

8.5 out of 10 stars ********

BUY ME! Shiver

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s