Book Review: The (Im)perfect Girlfriend

The (Im)perfect Girlfriend by Lucy-Anne Holmes

The blurb: We kissed until it became necessary to stop so that we could breathe, by which time my lips were so swollen it looked like I’d been pleasuring a brillo pad. We grinned at each other again and I felt the urge to utter something brilliantly intellectual.

‘Have I mentioned that I’m hopelessly in love with you?’

Actress Sarah Sargeant has finally landed the perfect boyfriend. But as she leaves London for LA, Sarah finds herself morphing from the perfect girlfriend, baby voicing ‘i love you’s, into a nutty one who throws phones and screams a lot.

Where did it all go wrong? Was it the photo of a semi-naked ex-girlfriend doing a downward dog she found in her boyfriend’s filofax? Or maybe it’s the steamy sex scene she films with the handsomest man in the world, ever.

Laugh-out-loud funny and brutally honest, The (Im)Perfect Girlfriend is the story of one woman’s search for her happy ever after. It is a novel that firmly establishes Lucy Anne Holmes as one of the best writers of romantic comedy today.

My review: I love Sarah Sargeant. She’s brilliant, funny, intelligent and as accident prone as the next girl. I do secretly think she’s probably gorgeous and not as fat as Lucy-Anne Holmes makes her out – there’s just too many compliments and too many men after this woman for her to be chubby! Sarah has a nice level of insecurity about her character, she’s extremely likeable despite some very unladylike characteristics. For one I hate the use of the term ‘semi’ if I could have it banned from this book my review would have added in another star. I don’t think anyone uses that saying so for me it stuck out like a sore thumb!

The (im)perfect girlfriend is a girl friendly book, intelligent enough to keep intelligent women interested but light hearted and humorous enough to make reading it a real pleasure. The characters ARE NOT perfect. This is what makes this book ten times better than some of the other chick-lit I’ve read recently. There will always be parts of these kinds of books that are unrealistic but frankly when it’s done this well – who cares? Not me, I could read it again and probably will! Worth a visit and why not try 50 Ways To Find A Lover – also genius!

7.5 stars out of 10 *******.5!

BUY ME! The (Im)Perfect Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

