Book Review: The Help

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The blurb: Enter a vanished and unjust world: Jackson, Mississippi, 1962. Where black maids raise white children, but aren’t trusted not to steal the silver…

There’s Aibileen, raising her seventeenth white child and nursing the hurt caused by her own son’s tragic death; Minny, whose cooking is nearly as sassy as her tongue; and white Miss Skeeter, home from College, who wants to know why her beloved maid has disappeared.

Skeeter, Aibileen and Minny. No one would believe they’d be friends; fewer still would tolerate it. But as each woman finds the courage to cross boundaries, they come to depend and rely upon one another. Each is in a search of a truth. And together they have an extraordinary story to tell…

My review: Wow, and I mean WOW! The Help was absolutely, stonkingly brilliant. From page one I was hooked, the dialect is conveyed so beautifully and so accurately that I was immediatley transported to Jackson in Mississippi. I didnt think Id like this book, I knew nothing about it and the cover didnt appeal, boy was I wrong.

This book seems to have been reviewed everywhere and although Stockett doesn’t need another review and I should probably be focusing my attentions on less noticed books, this one is truly a work of genius. Miss Celia is one of my favourite characters, as well as Aibileen, the women in The Help are well-rounded and beautifully depicted and their fears and loves shine from the pages. The tension ricochets up throughout the book and I couldnt put it down. It will be interesting to see what her next book is about.

This book without a shadow of a doubt gets 10 stars, in fact its going on the top shelf of my bookshelf reserved for those titles that I cant lend out because it would hurt me too much not to see them every day!

10 out of 10 stars! **********

BUY ME! The Help

Leave a Reply

