Book Review: Twenties Girl

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

The blurb: Lara has always had an overactive imagination. Now she wonders if she is losing her mind. Normal twenty-something girls just don’t get visited by ghosts! But inexplicably, the spirit of Lara’s great aunt Sadie – in the form of a bold, demanding Charleston-dancing girl – has appeared to make one last request: Lara must track down a missing necklace Sadie simply can’t rest without.

Lara’s got enough problems of her own. Her start-up company is floundering, her best friend and business partner has run off to Goa, and she’s just been dumped by the love of her life.

But as Lara spends time with Sadie, life becomes more glamorous and their treasure hunt turns into something intriguing and romantic. Could Sadie’s ghost be the answer to Lara’s problems and can two girls from different times end up learning something special from each other?

My Review: I love Sophie Kinsella, the shopaholic series is a dream and of the stand alone’s Can You Keep A Secret is particularly good. I started Twenties Girl expecting greatness; I could draw an accurate graph of my interest in this book. It would look like this – starts off high, I am Lara in many ways at this point, progresses smoothly until the first big event – the funeral of Aunt Sadie.

Here is where my graph takes a giant dip, practically to the bottom or negative 10. Its not that I don’t like ghost stories its just not what you’d expect from a Sophie Kinsella. I’m not sure how well funny chick-lit and fantasy ghosts mix in together. I persevered as I love Kinsella and my determination to finish the book paid off, the characters are lovely, funny and original. The love story is heavy on the improbability (but then there is a ghost as a matchmaker!) so once you’ve made your peace with the unlikelyness of it all you’ll get along just fine.

For me personally it’s not my favourite Kinsella, but it’s a great, humorous read and well worth picking up. I am biased as I am already a fan, so that should be taken into account. However it definitely brightened up my January!

7 out of 10 stars *******

BUY ME! Twenties Girl

Leave a Reply

