Book Review: The Witches of Eastwick

The Witches of Eastwick

The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike

The blurb:
The air of Eastwick breeds witches – women whose powerful longings can stir up thunderstorms and fracture domestic peace. Jane, Alexandra and Sukie, divorced and dangerous, have formed a coven. Into the void of Eastwick breezes Darryl Van Horne, a charismatic magus of a man who entrances the trio, luring them to his mansion…

My Review:
Such a difficult book to review. Everything I mentioned in the post below I stand by. It was a bit of a struggle. I had other books in my ‘to be read’ pile that were appealing to me more but I stuck at it as the prose was so enchanting. The narrative drive goes at about 2mph. Don’t expect a fast-paced, light read. Its more about feminitiy and the power of women than about any kind of story. But the themes and the discourses will stay with you. Particularly if you’re a woman. It’s also a great insight into 1960’s America. Definitely worth reading if you have the time and are in a relaxed frame of mind! I’m giving it 4.5 stars as I definitely struggled with it.

3.5 out of 10 stars ***.5

BUY ME! The Witches of Eastwick (Penguin Modern Classics)

One thought on “Book Review: The Witches of Eastwick

Leave a Reply

