I’m Reading…

John Updike’s The Witches of Eastwick. It’s a book I’ve always wanted to read and never quite got round to it. Now seemed like a good time, especially as the sequel The Widows of Eastwick is out in paperback and has such an enchanting cover. To be honest though I’m struggling with it. Updike’s prose is so beautiful but at the same moment, so consuming. I feel the dialogue and the plot is lost in all the wonderful descriptiveness. All those bastions of english literature A level; metaphors, similies, assonance, alliteration – can be found here and sadly I find on the whole can be very distracting. I will trudge on as I don’t like leaving a novel if I’ve got to the 100 page mark but it is a difficult read…

Leave a Reply

