Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
DEAD UNTIL DARK by Charlaine Harris
The blurb:
Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much – Sookie’s got a bit of a disability. She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable.
And then along comes Bill: he’s tall, he’s dark and he’s handsome – and Sookie can’t ‘hear’ a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’s been waiting all her life for.
But Bill has a disability of his own: he’s fussy about his food, he doesn’t like suntans and he’s never around during the day… Yep, Bill’s a vampire. Worse than that, he hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, with a reputation for trouble – of the murderous kind.
And then one of Sookie’s colleagues at the bar is killed, and it’s beginning to look like Sookie might be the next victim…

Charlaine Harris’ deep south vampire series is a rare treat, it flows easily and is unassuming. If I am completely honest I came to the book after I had started watching the television series True Blood – I was intrigued by the product adverts in the states so tuned in to watch when it was screened in the UK. I am hooked on the show and am now very likely hooked on the books.

Review:

Sookie Stackhouse, our heroine, has the ability to read other peoples thoughts. It’s rather down played in the book which I think is a shame as it could go in so many different directions. (I’ll have to read the rest of the series to find out if its developed!) Her character has an appealing naiveté that’s not always found in this genre, she’s working class and proud, raised with good morals and a people first attitude. Bill Compton, her main love interest and somewhat dead partner has an old time gentlemanly way about him which makes them a pretty perfect coupling. True Blood, a synthetic blood drink, where the TV series got its name, means that Bill can ‘mainstream’ into human society however with any minority this is a difficult transition. The other potential love interest Sam Merlotte, is also a conscientious character with his own little secrets.

As a whole the book was pleasantly easy to read, there are some surprising twists and great characterisation. I really empathised with Sookie and read the whole thing in one sitting! A definite recommend for fans of Twilight, Harris has created a truly believable world in Bon Temps.

7 out of 10 stars! *******

Out now

  
  
 
 
 
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s